So last night while I was watching the UNC/FSU game, it came clear to me about the bias that is showed by announcers and commentators towards the top-tier schools. I am not writing this because FSU lost in the final seconds to UNC, but rather because the more and more I watch televised basketball games no matter who the teams are, there is always a clear bias amongst the commentators.
When I was a youngster growing up and watching basketball games I always appreciated the passion from a Dick Vitale and other announcers. I still use most of the sayings from "Upset City Baby" to "PTPer" from time to time. However, as I have gotten older, that passion has turned into a one-man-band for one team over another. Just call the commentary for the game from a non-bias point of view with that same amount of passion. Perfect example was in the game last night, UNC point guard Marshall, throws a one-handed baseball bounce pass in between two defenders to his teammate for the layup. I give to the guy it was a great pass, but did Vitale really need to talk about that same pass for the next 10 possessions? Every time the game had a commercial break that play was shown over and over again. When it wasn't shown, it would be mentioned in a compliment Marshall. He is a good player, but come on. Enough is enough. Even, Dan Schulman, who was calling the game beside Vitale, was repeating the assist count for Marshall after he would dish out another assist. Granted he had 16 in the first meeting between the schools, but how about stating that FSU is playing better defense since Marshall was only able to get half of that in this game.
Need another example? How about when Schulman and Vitale were naming the talent that will soon end up in the NBA from the ACC. What names that were given? Barnes, Zeller, Marshall, Irving, and Singler. What do all those players have in common? UNC or Duke and Duke wasn't even playing in this game! How about some love for the almost certain first-round pick in FSU star, Chris Singleton? For other fellow ACC stars, Reggie Jackson from BC, Malcolm Delaney from VT or Jordan Williams from MD. I am not asking for the passion of the game to stop, but please let's keep the love affair for one team to a minimum.
Last one. Whoever is calling a UNC or Duke game, for instance, always gives these great stats or how there season has gone. They obviously do their homework for those teams. What about those non-top-tier opponents, like FSU last night? Every FSU game that is on the only thing that they talk about is how Bernard James was in the Army and is only been playing competitive basketball for a couple of years. Every game the same story. Yes, it is amazing how far the young man has come, I agree, but lets get some new information please. How about we talk about how FSU has been handling the loss of Singleton and the performances that have transpired? Or how the NCAA committee will perceive FSU without Singleton?
On the flip side I will give credit when credit is due. It was nice to see the player profile for FSU senior, Derwin Kitchen, to see his collegiate progression since it was his senior night. Bits and pieces were talked about the injuries that have occurred throughout the FSU program and the newcomers that have started to show that they can perform. Bits and pieces compared to the whole pie that UNC was receiving however. If you want to captivate the audience when you have the grand stage ESPN, put your best foot forward and give the people some background and insight into what they are actually watching or better yet just call the game as you see it.
I don't think the announcers are all to blame for the love affair of the elite programs. ESPN itself loves the big name universities. I understand that most fans will flock to see the top-tier programs in the nation, but what I don't understand is if you are the "worldwide leader in sports", how can you only show one side of the arguement.
I will provide the FSU vs Duke game for the example this time. It was the leading story on SportsCenter. Before the game there were about 6 teams still left without a loss. However, Duke was beaten by FSU 66-61. The whole highlight was about what Duke was not able to do rather than what FSU was able to do. I promise you not, look at the clip here http://espn.go.com/ncb/recap?gameId=310120052, the whole clip is straight from a Duke point of view. Duke this and Duke that.
For those that want want to know why everyone hates Duke or the other elite programs and wants to beat them, this is why. Everyone including the networks, refs, commentators all have only care about their teams. I am sorry, but if you have a profession where you work and you display this clear conflict of interest, then you would get the boot no questions asked. So when the likes of FSU or VT are able to beat Duke, it is like they are taking down the world. Unfortunately, the game is usually taken over by the refs with bad calls (favoring the elite teams of course) that these upsets rarely happen. The abuse that the refs take from the Coach Ks and Roy Williams is ridiculous. You can't name me a time when either one of those coaches got a technical foul. That's one one-sided I am not even sure how these upsets even happen. You think the bias only comes from the networks? Oh no, the ones that actually make the calls and control the action, the sports officials or refs, most of the time don't even allow for the upset to happen.
Every time the NCAA tournament goes to other stations to broadcast games (usually CBS, but this year will add TNT and TBS) fans finally can take the sound level off of mute and listen to a non-bias announcer like Gus Johnson.
Think I am kidding about the volume being taken off of mute. Read this piece from an article written by Ed Brayton called "Is Coach K bad for basketball?". Take into account that Brayton is actually a Duke fan!
Brayton writes, "I'll also say that despite being a Duke fan, I agree with those who say that Duke gets too much butt-kissing in the media. If you're one of those people who calls Dick Vitale "Dukie V", I'm on your side. He's so bad that I often have to turn the sound down when he does a game to avoid this constant slobbering all over not only Duke, but virtually anyone. Anyone who has ever scored 20 points in a game is a "PTPer" and every coach that ever had a 20 win season is a "hall of famer". And yes, he crosses the line when it comes to Duke. It's one thing to praise a great team and another thing to nominate them for sainthood. Give it a rest, Dick. And how about paying attention to the actual game for once rather than blathering on about who picked up the check at dinner and all the famous people you know?" Very interesting read. You can read it here: http://scienceblogs.com/dispatches/2006/02/is_coach_k_bad_for_basketball.php. I am sure he won't mind the publicity.
Enough is Enough already. Lets just enjoy the beauty that is College Hoops.
No comments:
Post a Comment